Month: November 2012

  • Seemingly Ordinary Events that Give You Just a Little Bit of Hope

    Today would have been Kurt Vonnegut’s 90th birthday.  I miss him a lot.  He was funny, incredibly imaginative and relentlessly honest.  We can always use some of that stuff.

     

    Yesterday as I limped out of  the gym I noticed that the young lady at the desk was reading a library paperback edition of Player Piano.

    “You enjoying the book?”

    “Oh yeah!” 

    Genuine enthusiasm here.  This young person had the nerve to challenge my bitter nature.

    “Have you read Cat’s Cradle?  That’s my favourite.”

    “That’s what I’m going to read next.  My friend said I should check out his work.”

    “You have a very good friend there.”

    “Then I’m going to read Slaughterhouse Five and Breakfast of Champions.”

    Then I suggest she check out the DVD of the movie of Slaughterhouse Five after she’s read the book.  Then I go home and feel pretty good about the state of our very small corner of the world.